Archive for October 11th, 2006

argh!

11 October, 2006

A while ago, I paid a premium to pre-order the upcoming Pernice Brothers album, Live a Little. I did it as an act of goodwill, and because they were throwing in a bonus cd of demos and alternate mixes from a few tracks.

Well, it arrived today. Sent from Spunk Records in Northcote. In an Express Post envelope. The only problem is that there was no copy of Live a Little in the envelope! I got the bonus cd, and I got my invoice. But not the damn cd that I paid a premium for.

argh!

spamTastic!

11 October, 2006

Whoa! I just got hit with twice as much spam as I had ever had. And askismet blocked it all. Boo-ya!

(Apologies to anyone who really did want to know about gambling midgets)

what is wrong with this picture?

11 October, 2006

Today, the Steinbecks begin a 4 day mixing and mastering session for our new album (alt.punk). We are working with Craig Pilkington (who has worked alot with the Lucksmiths, Guild League, and et-cetera) at Audrey Studios.

And yet, despite all this wonderful opportunity, I sit here in my dingy little office (there is no stingy ray of sunlight) pondering Google.

I definately have better things to be doing. What about you?

vague apologies to Google

11 October, 2006

Okay, so I coulf just create a number of different calendars – Work, Holidays, Steinbecks, et-cetera. Give them all different colours. Sure. But it does seem a slightly round-a-bout way to do it.

Seebs will be pleased to know that I have found a Melbourne Victory calendar, which I have included for the moment.

But, now that I have 6 different calendars viewable – I want more colours to choose from. Nothing is every easy, eh?

more gentle Google bashing

11 October, 2006

Over the past few weeks I have been trying to pretend that I am organised. And to do that, I have been using another of Google’s wonderful web-based applications: Google Calendar.

Before my legion of Mac fans start abusing me for not using iCal, please keep in mind that I spend more computer hours at work, without the Mac. Mrs Giz has probably spent more time on the Shiny than I have to date. So I need something that I can access from work, but also have access to at home.

The biggest problem with applications like this is the user, me. I am lazy and disorganised, and find it remarkably easy to miss a day, not check the calendar, not put somethnig on it, and et-cetera.

The next biggest problem with Google Calendar is it’s colours. Sure, I have to option to select a colour for my calendar, but I want more. More colours. Not more colours to choose from, but more colours to use. I don’t want every damn thing on my calendar to be the same colour. I want my ADO’s to be a sunny colour, but my OnCall to be dark and miserable. I want dentist appointments and picnics to be noticably different. I want to be able to group events and have different colour schemes for each group.

Of course – knowing me, and knowing Google, these things are probably already available somewhere, it’s just that I haven’t lookedhard enough, and Google has made them a bit obscure (like adding a new category in Google Reader, what a piece of nonsense).