on feet

25 April, 2008

I’ve just been reading this interesting piece from New York Magazine (and yes, I found it on Coudal).

Striking quote:

Which makes me think, North Americans have the most advanced shoes in the world, yet 90 percent of us still develop problems? We’ve long assumed this means we need better shoes. Maybe it means we don’t need shoes at all.

It’s a bit of a discussion about shoes, walking and modern society I suppose. While reading I was thinking about how much I love my Campers – how it feels right to be close to the ground, and flat. My two main shoes are the Campers, and a pair of Redback Boots (Bobcat UBOK’s). The Redback’s do feel comfortable, they’re great for the garden, and look a treat under my denims. But they pale in comparison to the Campers, which are soft, flexible, lightweight and still heavily spunky.

Barefoot is something I do enjoy – I try to spend a lot of time at home barefoot – but the winter, and the mulch in the backyard can make it a bit cold and hurty – but I am getting used to it.

As an aside, the Hardman – while he loves his shoes – is always much happier barefoot.

3 Responses to “on feet”

  1. wildschwein Says:

    I’m of the barefoot kind too. When I do wear shoes I tend to wear canvas flats, flat maryjanes, thongs, or skate shoes (so also flat). I’ve tried wearing sneakers for work but they’re only cheapo ones and my feet absolutely kill at the end of the day, so I’ve reverted back to flat maryjanes in the garden. Breathable yet supportive.

  2. gizo Says:

    I like the idea of maryjanes in the garden…


  3. i love going barefoot, even on the rough mulch of gizo’s yard. i choose to wear birkenstocks every day. i like the idea of maryjanes, but hate cr**s with a passion.


Leave a Reply

