SXSW 2008 – First Pass, part 1

26 March, 2008

So, thanks to Paul I have the SXSW 2008 showcase of seven-hundred and plenty songs.

I’ve gone about 150 songs into my first pass. The first pass is basically me giving up to 20 seconds to each song. If they don’t pass the 20 second mark, they’re gone. The others will live for the second pass, where I decide if I actually enjoy them, and could see myself listening to more of their music.

I’d expect to have about 20 or so left after the first pass, and less than 5 after the second. So far, I have 6.

For completeness sake, and noting that they are yet to be subject to the second pass, I offer you…

  • The Choir Practice – Red Fox
  • Geronimo – Just Like Water
  • Kaki King – Pull Me Out Alive
  • Kate Walsh – Your Song
  • Trespassers William – Safe, Sound
  • A Weather – Spiders, Snakes

As an aside, I should note that any band or song name in ALL CAPS is removed immediately.

4 Responses to “SXSW 2008 – First Pass, part 1”

  1. gizo Says:

    Update:

    ze frank links to a series of 6 word reviews of all 763 songs (!).

  2. Paul Says:

    I was reading that link about a week ago – I thought I’d linked it to you.. 🙂

  3. Paul Says:

    Also, your linking-fu is weak. 🙂

  4. Paul Says:

    Pink Nasty is in there! I like her lots. And yeowch, whatever happened to Kevin Shields…

    Why are P.O.T.U.S.A in there with a 10-year-old song? Weird.


Leave a Reply

