So, where have I been?

19 February, 2008

A fair question.

I’ve been in the same place I’ve always been, there’s just been more going on.

I’ve adopted a new role (albeit without a formal Job Description yet, grrr), and am coming to terms with the new workload/flow.

Last year I was a Dev Support person, and it was pretty simple – things would break and I would fix them, people would want a report and I would code the SQL for it. Simple. But now I am managing projects – I am pro-actively chasing things down, having ideas (!), and managing my own timelines and expectations, organising meetings, managing peoples. It all takes alot more effort, and I just don’t have the time during the day to put together a whole blog post.

Sure, I twitter a bit, but nothing particularly clever. And I never usually have a chunk of time when I am at home either. Except tonight, as the Kym has headed out to see Juno with Meglet, and the Hardman is having a well-earned sleep.

So anyways, I am trying to at least gather my thoughts during the day, and hopefully I can organise something, even if it’s just once a week. Things should definately improve once the business moves office, as I’ll be on the train every day. All I’ll need then is a laptop for the transit – I’d better email Helpdesk now to get that started.

Anywho, I’ve got some washing to sort out, a kitchen to clean, and two fingers of single malt to get through. So be well, and implement a backup solution today.

gizo

5 Responses to “So, where have I been?”


  1. the days are super busy, yes indeed…often spilling over into the evenings. hope you are enjoying your new role? mine is changing again, and i really love it.

  2. gizo Says:

    More change Vetti? How many roles do they left that you haven’t excelled in already?!?!

  3. Paul Says:

    Juno is teh goodness.


  4. that’s so sweet gizo 🙂 i’m taking on more ordering, and working on consolidation and development.

  5. bookboy Says:

    Backup? What’s that? Never heard of it.


Leave a Reply

