a quick thought…

17 February, 2008

…as The Hardman runs around the house this morning, screaming his little precious lungs out, and I mentally prepare myself for digging up concrete from the side of the house, I am listening to more Sufjan Stevens, and smiling……

and then I read this on the twitter… 

Every time you sniff and say somebody has “too much free time,” the part of you that used to love making things for pure joy dies a little.

 

…indeed…

I don’t make resolutions, but I’m still gonna have a good crack at blogging proper again, and playing my guitars.

Hugs to you all, and be awesome! 

14 Responses to “a quick thought…”

  1. crumpet Says:

    I’m sure that’s been said about me from time to time…

    There used to be this really grumpy old lady who worked at DJs, and she would catch the same tram as me into the city. When I was knitting my teacups, she got on the tram and said, completely pleasantly, “Oh, what are you knitting today? More socks?” Then she completely cracked it when I said, “No, I’m knitting teacups.”

    “WHAT ARE YOU DOING THAT FOR! THAT’S RIDICULOUS!”

    “I’m making them for a uni project.”

    “DO YOUR TEACHERS KNOW YOU’RE KNITTING TEACUPS! THAT’S RIDICULOUS!”

    “Yes, they know.”

    “ARE YOU SURE THEY KNOW!!!?!”

    It was hilarious. And I ended up with a High Distinction. 😉

  2. bookboy Says:

    That’s a beautiful quote. I feel a little inspired.


  3. welcome back, i’ve missed your posts…

    right now, i’m attempting to do at least one small creative thing per day – one poem, drawing, arrangement, or whatever. it doesn’t need to be much, but it keeps me connected. the peeps i share them with seem to like it too 😉

  4. gizo Says:

    @crumpet if i recall correctly, they were mad-hatter’s teacups? which would make the ridiculousness quite appropriate.
    of course, if they weren’t mad-hatter’s teacups, then, the old lady is a buffoon, and my memory is a muffin…

    @vetti i am sure there is a ‘thing-a-day’ website somewhere, it’ such a great idea. are you familiar with ze frank, who did a video every weekday for a year, or jonathan coulton, who did a song a week for a year? both inspirational, and worth tracking down.

    @gonty indeed, so inspirational that i blogged it. i actively chose to blog over tweet. could this be a brand new love?

  5. m1k3y Says:

    @gizo .. as Ze says: getting from 0 to 1 can be the hardest thing

  6. crumpet Says:

    Yep, the Mad Hatter teacups, which made it extra amusing. I was sitting there trying not to laugh.


  7. going from 0 to 1 can be hard, but from 1 + is super easy

  8. Paul Says:

    I’ve found that I’m excellent at going from 0 to 0.3.

  9. gizo Says:

    ..and it’s a truly fantastic 0.3, sir…

  10. gruntski Says:

    Who’re you, again???? Oooooo…. I remember!!! You’re the guy who used to post heaps… and now I’m the guy who doesn’t post at all!!!! 😦

    Laziness has its place on this planet, and its place on this planet is YASS…..


  11. hey gruntski – mebbe you should get up off y’ass and post? 😉

  12. gizo Says:

    dammit! Vetti beats me to it!!
    Boom-Tish!!

  13. gruntski Says:

    thassa funny!!! and you’re right… mebbe I should…


  14. damn right you should 😀


Leave a Reply

