9 August, 2007

I mentioned in a previous post that I envied Mr Seeber. I’d like to expand on that a little.

I don’t just envy him – I respect and admire him also.

For those of you not in the know, Mr Seeber (who doesn’t update his blog nearly enough) is a new father, like me. We have similar tastes in music, and have shared a number of houses, and played together in a rock band or two. It’s fair to say we have a lot in common, and are good friends.

“So what?” you say. “Of course you admire and respect your friends.” Of course I do. But this is different, this goes beyond the expected levels.

Mr Seeber is doing what I wish I could do, what I wish I was in a situation to be able to do (hence the envy). He has negotiated a new contract with his employer, which allows him to spend one day a week at home with his new daughter. It certainly is enviable, isn’t it? To be able to spend some good solid time alone with your child – to watch her grow and learn, and to be confident to care for her.

But the biggest feeling I have is admiration. Mr Seeber is bucking the system. He’s not content to do his bit as the breadwinner, and leave the parenting to mum. He’s stepping boldly into what I like to call Real Fatherhood. He’s going to be the Primary Carer while he is at home – no mum to hold his hand, or to come running when things don’t go smoothly. He’ll be taking the ups as well as the downs. He’s going to be responsible. And for that – I admire and respect him.

Also, he has introduced us to Flight of the Conchords, which is incredibly great, and worthy of respect in itself.

Cheers, mate.

2 Responses to “”

  1. crumpet Says:

    That’s very cool.

    Also, Flight of the Conchords is Teh Funny.


Leave a Reply

