lack of focus

27 April, 2007

I just dont seem to be able to get my shit together. Beyond the two things that demand attention (The Hardman and Work), I feel almost completely unable to get things done. It’s not a lack of methods or ideas, more a headcase I think.

So it goes.

I have been thinking about getting some new headphones, for the iPod, and recording (which I’ll probably never get up to). So I went into Streetwise to try out their Sennheiser listening tower. Unfortunately, the music they played was crap, and there was no way of plugging in my iPod to hear something decent. Anywho, there were a couple that sounded crap, a few that were SOOOOO BASSSY it hurt, and then, there was one pair that sounded pretty nice. The bad news is that they look like rubbish bin lids. Anyone know of any good, closed headphones? Not too expensive. Not too bassy. Not too pissy?

Aside from that, I’ve been plugging away at the SXSW 2007 showcase, and found my old friends, The Apples In Stereo, with a song from their new album, New Magnetic Wonder. They rock me, alot. I like to dance like a fool when I hear them play.

Speaking of playing. The Steinbecks have a new website, and a new album coming out soon. We’ll be launching at the Northcote Social Club on Friday, May 11th. Come along and see us, The Guild League, and The Daytime Frequency. It’ll be a blast. You can listen to some of our stuff and see out video here.

Meanwhile, the garden is coming along nicely. We’ve removed the little shed, the dead ferns, half a viburnum, and several cubic metres of vine. Things are coming along, but slowly, ever slowly.

The Hardman has some teeth, some attitude, and is getting about like a commando. His current interests include climbing mum, dancing, and bananas. He even danced to my guitar playing the other night, which was nice.

5 Responses to “lack of focus”

  1. bookboy Says:

    You can take your own source equipment to Headphonic (www.headphones.com.au), but the flight to Perth might be a bit prohibitive. Alternatively, he does seem good at dishing out advice if you send an email or hit his forum.

  2. gizo Says:

    Thanks for the heads-up, I’ll pop over and browse his site…

  3. Squozen Says:

    It’ll be Grados for me until I die. Yes.


  4. … you mean 3 things: K, HMH, and work, right ?

    thanks for the Apples link – I must have this album!

  5. gizo Says:

    Mr Squozen..

    What’s the diff between Grados and Alessandros? Are they the same same but different?
    Are they re-badged? Are Alessandro a consumer version?

    Are your Grados expensive? Do they plug into an iPod?

    Why don’t the grandchildren visit me anymore?


Leave a Reply

