o.O

27 January, 2007

Hi all.

Yes, as Crump pointed out, I am still alive. It’s been mad-busy, and the blog has taken a backseat to Kymbo, the Hardman, and sleep.

My new job is great. I don’t get tired of telling people how exciting it is to go to a place where people are happy. I’m enjoying Oakliegh, too. It’s great to have some funky cheese and Ouzo shops in close walking distance.

Been up to a whole lotta nothing lately. Other than frying my brain with SQL Server, and C#. It’s tough trying to train my brain away from Python, with all it’s simplicity and power, and towards C#, with it’s complicated typing and that crazy need for compiling. Ha.

I’ve been working on all manner of things – from tidying up stored proceures, to funking around with some of the caching routines for the main site – that scared the pants off me, to be sure.

Anywho, to the big things. First, I am going to start catching the bus to work soon, which means I will have some free time in both directions, some of which I want to use for catching up with my blogging. But, I cannot take the MBP to work with me, and Kymbo uses it for all manner of goodness. So, do I invest in a little handheld thingy that I can type on and sync up to a pooter? Or do I get one with wi-fi, and cruise the hot spots? Or do I go for a cheapo tiny laptop to use on the bus? Or do I use the time to sleep?

The other thing, the most important one, is a matter of bugs. There is this one house near work, that I pass every morning and afternoon. It’s a bit of a ratty old place, and it has the strangest big black buggy things flying around it. The bugs don’t leave the property. They just fly around that one property. It freaks me out. They’re like big long flies, but black, with maybe a blueish tinge to their wings. What the freak are they? And why are they only at that one property? Since when did bugs allow themselves to be tied down to our arbitrary property boundaries?

Anywho, I gots to go now, and plan some pasta.

Good to see you’re all poking around here. Thanks. You make me feel wanted.

Oo, goto to go, the Hardman is calling.

8 Responses to “o.O”

  1. crumpet Says:

    I highly recommend knitting on the bus. πŸ™‚

    Or perhaps I could make you a belated Christmas gift of something like the link above, without the namebrand pricetag?

  2. gizo Says:

    I think the point is that knitting, and these wierd old-school ‘tecnologies’ will leave me in the same blogless groove I am currently in, and m yblog will be once again overrun by you crazies…

  3. bookboy Says:

    The “old school” technology doesn’t leave you blogless. When you get to work or home, you simply “sync” it with your ‘puter using the most advanced software & hardware at your disposal.

  4. vetti Says:

    welcome back giz!

    hope you’ll be grooving on the blog bus very soon πŸ˜€

  5. vetti Says:

    thanks for the pasta – it was awesome. that jamie oliver got nothin on you…

  6. gruntski Says:

    Giz- good to see you still in the blogosphere…


Leave a Reply

