the end is nigh

30 November, 2006

…as the NaBloPoMo draws to an end, I consider endings…

NaBloPoMo has been tough for me, I was definitely up against it for a while there. The combination of weekends, fatigue, and an unhappy HardMan Harvey took their toll on me. But I made it through, with only a smattering of useless posts. The bogans were met, and lost. They may well return as a semi-regular feature, I like them. I got comments from strangers, and links from strangers’ blogs.

An American in Czechezlovakia made me look like a pathetic amateur, by completing his 6th consecutive NaNoWriMo – 50,000 words trumps my blogging any day.

There is another end in sight. I have 16 and a half working days left at the hospital. Despite my constant whining about this place for the last 9 years, I am actually going to miss some of it. I’ll miss the coffee guys, the tellers in the Credit Union downstairs, the close proximity to Agra Sweet, and even some of the workers (the Old School Crew and the Angry Mormon).

But there’s one thing I will not miss: the kids. I have never been able to cope with the kids at the hospital. 7 year olds dying from cancer, newborns with HIV or Heroin addictions, kids with neural misfires or 50 pipes and tubes sticking out of their bodies. They make me cry inside every time I see them, and 9 years of it hasn’t hardened me at all. I weep for them, their parents, their brothers and sisters. And I thank God that there are people here who help them every day. People who are stronger than me.

I imagine my blogging will slow down a little now, hopefully we’ll have no more of the stupidly short postings. I’m sure I’ll be flat out in my new job next year; it will be interesting to see how much energy I have left to talk to you all.

It’s been sweet, but now it’s time for you all to get outside in the sun, and kick the metaphorical footy around a bit.

</NaBloPoMo>

3 Responses to “the end is nigh”

  1. vetti Says:

    You made it! Thanks for the bogans, maybe you could use some of the characters from your ( soon-to-be-old ) job in a new comic?

    The fact that you aren’t case-hardened after 9 years says a lot about you – don’t ever lose sight of that.

    Off into the sunshine now to get some non-metaphorical nourishment 🙂

  2. bookboy Says:

    Wow. Well done.
    It’s been a great ride.
    I can’t wait for the first post of your December NaBloPoMo committment!

  3. gizo Says:

    bookboy – ha!


Leave a Reply

