the royal morning visit

14 November, 2006

Well, it’s been a busy day here at NaBloPoMo.14

There has been the mundane (air conditioner installation), the personality of a fencepost (electrician), the so-far-out-of-my-comfort-zone-it-makes-me-sweat (meeting with my future career?), the relentless pampering of HardMan Harvey, and…. Travis.

In the early morning, while Paul the Plumber was installing the aircon unit, Mrs Gizo, the HardMan and myself were out on the patio, surveying our wondrous estate. I chanced to spy a glimmer of green flying through the air, I pointed and called out, and the green turned towards me, it flew right up to my nose and turned at the last moment, landing on the Dogwood.

It wasn’t long before Travis had left the Dogwood, and come over to the balcony to visit us, and pose for a few shots. Mrs Gizo was excited, I was running for a camera, and the HardMan was staring intently at the foreground.

After a few turns and strides along the balcony, Travis spread his wings, and gave us one last look at his magnificent plumage, reminding us why we love the East.

Fly well Travis, and may we meet again…….
Travis, the King Parrot

4 Responses to “the royal morning visit”

  1. bookboy Says:

    Wow. I’ve never had a green thing fly _to_ my nose.

  2. ridgiewick Says:

    You’ve reminded me of crab apples and rosellas at the first real house I ever lived in; thank you.

  3. vetti Says:

    …how does a bird with such handsome plumage and regal bearing get named travis?

  4. gizo Says:

    @bookboy – cheap laugh, but good

    @ vetti – you will have to ask Mrs Gizo about that – she is the Namer of Creatures, I just transcribe her words.


Leave a Reply

