so, now what?

8 November, 2006

Today I got an email:

Hi
I know we have stuffed you around in the past so I am REALLY conscious
of not doing that again.
I guess I just wanted to know if you were still interested in working
with us?
If so, what salary would you be looking at (excluding super).
What I will do is actually write up a formal offer if you are still
interested so that if you say yes you will definitely have a job here.
So hopefully you are still interested as we could really use your help.
Take care and hopefully speak to you soon.
Mark

So, that’s all come up a bit sooner than anticipated (to be honest, I had doubted that it would come up at all), and I am left with a decision to make…. jeez…

7 Responses to “so, now what?”

  1. crumpet Says:

    Which job would make you happier?

  2. gizo Says:

    That’s the problem – I don’t know. My current job makes me neither too happy nor too unhappy. The other job, well, it’s an unknown. It’s scary as all get-out. A new place, new people, I’ll be much more accountable (and sack-able), and frankly, I’m shit-scared that I don’t know enough about .Net, and that I’m too old and too stupid to learn it. I’m scared that I’ll fail. And I’m scared about not being able to look after Hadman and Mrs Gizo.

    I was hoping for more of an “I’ve read the answers at the back of the book, and you should choose X” type of answer…..

  3. bookboy Says:

    I’ve read the answers at the back of the book and you should choose X.

  4. gruntski Says:

    *snort* @Bookboy

  5. gizo Says:

    If there was one thing that I knew about this whole affair, it was that bookboy would say what he said. I would have, if the tables were turned.

  6. vetti Says:

    …there is no right answer, just a space for you to decide which job is the best for you right now. You have so much to give, are willing to learn, and would be an asset to anyone, anywhere. Take some time out to think about it all.

    I’m looking for work as of today, have plenty of time if you want to talk.

  7. Squozen Says:

    I’m skiving off work right this very second, call me! Let’s drink our problems away!


Leave a Reply

