now we are confuzzled

11 July, 2006

Interesting things are afoot everywhere.

Yesterday I received some interesting news. It starts with Cost-Cutting. But rather than losing my job, it means that my boss (the Angry Mormon) and I are to be ‘handballed’ to the Computer Services department. This means that our current department will no longer have to pay us, and thusly, will save a whopping 100 gorillas (or similar) every year.

What this means for me though, is unclear. I am currently on a contract that expires at the end of this year. Previous to our shuffle, it was assumed that I would do one of three things:

  1. Continue on (if Captain Long Service Leave doesn’t return)
  2. Return to my old job (over my dead body)
  3. Quit

Now. I don’t know. If I no longer work for the Pathology department, I can’t just slide back into there. If I work for Computer Services, what’s to stop them waving me bye-bye at the end of the year? You know, cost-cutting, FILO. All that. So will I get a permanent placement before I am shipped off to ths new department? Who knows. I don’t.

As my dear father would say: We’ll just suck it and see.

Wish me luck.

3 Responses to “now we are confuzzled”

  1. vetti Says:

    good luck!


Leave a Reply

