first thoughts

23 November, 2005

Okay. I have been playing, fiddling, and thinking with this Wonder that is WordPress for a little while now. It’s actually a Good Thing that WordPress.com opened to the public, because I was too lazy and stupid to set up a trial install on my Windows PC at home. I have also managed to skillfully avoid the Debian install that Mr K put on my Pentium 233 laptop. But I digress…

The only downside I can see here is the lack of flexibility with the appearance of my blog. But I believe that’s only a temporary setback. There are so many themes for wordpress out there that it’d be madness to not let them be used here.

The upsides are huge. The flexibility of Categories, Trackbacks, Links, Pages and a whole bunch of stuff I’ve not even looked at yet is great. I just feel so much more in control of my content here than over at Blogger.com

So far, I’m impressed. I look forward to writing here, and hopefully it will help me to keep the words flowing.

2 Responses to “first thoughts”

  1. Squozen Says:

    I’ll be interested to see how the spam control works on the wordpress.com blogs. I have had issues but the plugin I’m using now does a great job at holding back the tide. I know it occasionally bites you, but it’s blocked 47 spams in the last day automatically. Since installing the latest WordPress I’ve knocked back over 1100 spams.

  2. gizo Says:

    and yet Spam Karma still kills half my comments on Korangar.


Leave a Reply

